Neil Olson General Manager’s Award

E-mail Print PDF

Neil Olson served as the Mainers General Manager from 2002-2009

The Neil Olson General Manager’s Award is presented annually to a Mainers player who best exemplifies the spirit and enthusiasm of the Sanford Mainers organization. The award was established in honor of the former Mainers general manger whose leadership and guidance made the Mainers one of the best organizations in the New England Collegiate league.

“Neil Olson is baseball. It's the first thing he thinks of when he wakes up, and it's the last thing he thinks of when he goes to bed. He appreciates the fundamentals of the game, but has greater appreciation for work ethic. He never cares about glitz or glamour; he just wants to see people grinding it out, and playing the game with passion and dedication. It's how he lives his life and how he expects people to play baseball. Those that are worthy of Mr. Olson's praises are recipients of the Olson Award.”

John Webb, General Manager, Sanford Mainers


If you build it, they will come… and for Neil Olson, his hard work paid off with League Championship teams in 2004 and 2008. To Olson’s left are former Mainers catcher, now Mainers manager, Aaron Izaryk and Allen Mapes, one of Mainers founding fathers.

A word of advice…   Neil shares a thought (but not his french fries) with Mainers player Kevin Reimer.


2014 Neil Olson General Manager’s Award Recipient:


Nick Poore

Sanford Mainers General Manager John Webb poses with Nick Poore after presenting him with 2014 Neil Olson General Manager Award. Poore, who was a member of the Mainers squad for the 2013-14 seasons, becomes the second straight player from Boston College (Nate LaPointe, 2013) to be given the honor.

Past Recipients

2013 Nate LaPointe — Boston College

2012 Jose Torralba — Canisius College

2011 Marlon Calbi — Villanova University

2010 Joey Wendle — West Chester University

2009 Mark Micowski - Georgia State University




Laconia Muskrats

Laconia Muskrats
Sanford Mainers

Sanford Mainers

Fri Jun 05 @ 6:30PM
Sat Jun 06 @ 6:30PM -
First home game of the year